Franken-free Friday: Sally Hansens and some nail art!

Happy Friday!

Today I have a few of the newer Sally Hansens to show you, as well as my attempt at some nail art. Nothing fancy, just playing around…but I figured I would post the pics anyway!

As you all may know, Sally Hansen recently revamped their entire “Salon” polish line…new colors, new brushes, and new bottle design. While I don’t particularly like the new bottles (I’m a square lover!), I do really love the brush. It’s bigger and has a rounded shape, similar to the Insta-Dri style. The rounded shape works excellent for getting a nice “gap”, and the bigger brush covers more of my nail, so I can paint faster!

First up, Lavender Cloud! Pretty name, even prettier color! It’s a clean, crisp pale white-lavender. I was really impressed at how smooth this went on. No streaks, no runny mess. I did 2 coats, and it was completely opaque:

Next, of course, the green! Grass Slipper (which I think is a hilarious name) is a green creme, and also applied nicely and covered great in 2 coats:

I jazzed this up a little by using french mani guides to make a diagonal design. The pink is Sally Hansen Insta-Dri in Rose Rush. I love these Insta-Dri colors because they cover completely in only one coat, so I didn’t need to put much effort into this.

And lastly, one of the new Salon colors that I think has been greatly overlooked. Calypso Blue, which honestly doesn’t look like much in the bottle, is really gorgeous. It is an electric shimmery blue, and not the least bit sheer. 2 thin coats and I was good to go.

I snazzed this one up after a few days, using my new stencils from SmARTnails. After seeing a post about these on the nail board, I decided to order a few to try out. This is the “Small Teeth” design, and I used another Insta-Dri, Sea Breeze, as an accent color. It’s subtle, but that’s what I was going for. And I was a bit nervous about screwing up, I admit. These were foolproof, and not messy at all.

That’s all for today…I hope you all have a great Memorial weekend!🙂

14 Responses to “Franken-free Friday: Sally Hansens and some nail art!”

  1. The SmARTnails is something I’m going to have to get my hands on. I like that you did that one subtly. Darn, if your nails don’t look good!

  2. Patricia Says:

    I love the green with pink! I might have to go check these out! ~Patricia

  3. I love the nails. cant wait to get my grubby little fingers on that SmARTnails.

  4. […] Franken-free Friday: Sally Hansens as well as a little nail art! « Dr … […]

  5. Jackie S. Says:

    Nice nail art, I may have to pick up Calypso Blue next time, Ive passed it up twice.

    Enter my giveaway, its all purples!

    http://candycoatedtips.blogspot.com/2010/05/purple-is-winner-my-first-giveaway.html

  6. How do you manage to apply nail polish so smoothly?! Is it just more expensive formulas or practice? My manicures always look jacked up lol, maybe because I always feel the urge to paint my nails at very inconvenient times.

  7. Thank you, everyone!

    Anita…it’s taken me a few years to get my application skills down LOL. And of course my left hand always looks better than the non-photographed right one!😛

  8. How did you do the design? the “small teeth” design.

  9. maybe I’m just amazed at the shape…my nails are very thin, and so they peel a lot (and I have a habit of picking at them when they do) so I can’t grow them out😦

  10. I’m loving those new Sally Hansens too – I picked up Black Platinum (really pretty and shimmery) and Fairy Teal. I’m in loooove with Fairy Teal, it goes on beautifully and is an amazing colour. I really like your swatch of Lavender Cloud; might pick that up next!

  11. gorgeous! going to have to hunt down lavender cloud🙂

  12. bellebathandbeyond Says:

    Wow you just convinced me to buy Calypso Blue – I passed on this color several times but now I’m sold!

    Got to grab Lavender Cloud too.

    I am impressed with the Salon polishes I’ve tried so far.

  13. Calypso Blue looks great – I know I’ve overlooked it, too. It’s very glowy – it reminds me of a lighter, brighter China Glaze “Frostbite”.

    I’m looking for a decent white to use as a basecoat under sheer polishes. Maybe I will try the insta-dri white.

  14. I’m gone to convey my little brother, that he should also pay a visit this weblog on regular basis to get updated from latest reports.

Leave a Reply

