Wishful Thinking (also some news!)

Hello Franken-friends!
I have a really cool glitter polish for you today. I received a ton of compliments on this one when I wore it…glitters tend to have that effect on people.๐Ÿ˜‰

For the base, I used LA Colors in Amethyst, which is a pretty color on its’ own…but sadly, after I opened the bottle the cap was all wonky and wouldn’t close again properly, so I decided I may as well franken with it while I was re-bottling it.

After pouring the entire bottle of Amethyst into an empty bottle, I added in 1 tbsp. each of Martha Stewart glitter in Turquoise and Lapis Lazuli. You can use less glitter for a more subtle effect, but I wanted this to really shine!

I can see why this was getting so much attention from people…it’s fabulous! I think this one will be going on my favorite franken list.

Up close of the glittery goodness…

Now, I know a lot of you are curious as to what this “big news” I’ve been hinting at recently. Sadly, it isn’t polish related, but it is huge news for me. My fiance and I have been house hunting for our first house this past year, and after what seemed like forever…we finally found it! People told me house hunting and the home buying process was horrible and stressful, and they were absolutely right! But I made it through this all alive, and will be moving into my new house in a month. I’ll be taking a brief break from frankening, but I promise I will be back soon with some cool stuff for you all!๐Ÿ™‚ Halloween is coming up, after all!
And as always, thanks to all of you polish lovers that take the time to read my blog and leave me wonderful comments…you guys are awesome!โค

37 Responses to “Wishful Thinking (also some news!)”

  1. i absolutely love this polish!!! and congrats on your first house!!

  2. I DO love that franken and congratulations on the house! I have to house hunt myself and I am horrified!!!โค

  3. Congrats on your house! Having a home is so much fun — what an exciting step!

    I love the polish, by the way — I might have to get some Martha glitter! My last glitter lost color in the polish (which made for a really pretty “jelly”), but the glitter was all silver. Oh well! I love your polishes!

  4. Death_Unbalanced Says:

    Congratulations on the house! I am happy for you two. ^_ _^
    I also love this polish!
    The purple color with the blue glitters gives this one a very interesting effect. No wonder you were getting comments!
    Because they tend to stick around long after removal, and are hard to take off, I do not use glitters often, but I would be willing to go through it all for this one.
    Very nice!โค

  5. That is an absolutely gorgeous franken! It’s made me want to try my own right this minute!๐Ÿ™‚
    Congratulations on your new home. Me and my boyf are looking at the moment and it’s taking forever so I know how stressful it is. Just think how amazing it will be once you’re settled though!

  6. Great glitter! Congrats on the house! My bf and I closed on our first one last July and it was stressful, but once you get into the house it’s not as stressful, but you have a loooong list of stuff to do to it and it never ends! But at least it will be yours.

  7. How wonderful to finally find a home. Congrats and best wishes on finding your home. I hope everything goes smoothly with your moving in your first home. God Bless you both.
    The polish is beautiful. I’m suprised you could even work. It would be hard not to stare at your nails all day. Beautiful.

  8. Congratulations on the new house! I bought my first place this year, too (moved in July 2), and it definitely beats renting, etc. The most fun part is painting walls colors I want to, haha!

    Also love this polish…can’t go wrong with purple and blue!

  9. Wow, that is truly drop-dead gorgeous. Wonder who those pigments would look in a pale blue like let’s say ChG Moody Blue

  10. Congrats on your first house- it is the most scary and yet the most wonderful thing ever.
    Make sure you get a termite inspection, and a good lawyer (ours saved us a bundle!), and allow extra money for closing. There always seems to be something unexpected. Try to remember to laugh when you are signing your name for the 700th time at the closing. Then go get a hand massage, and then toast with champagne! You’ve got a house!!! (a lot of work, but totally worth it!!!) Yay!!!

    BTW I love this franken- both the color and the glitter- it is completely gorgeous! (and sometime when you come back, please tell us where to get the ballz that go into every recipe!!! I have searched all over to no avail!) thanx and have fun!

  11. Geeze! I just found Frankenpolish 101- so I have my ballz info now! Thank you! Can’t wait to get started!

  12. Love the glitter franken (as always). Congratulations on finding your first home, how exciting! Good luck๐Ÿ™‚

  13. HamperLady Says:

    I really like that. Can I move into your new house along with my hamper too?

  14. Congrats on the HOUSE! Woot!!

    Can’t wait to see what you do for Halloween–its one of my favorite holidays๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Congrats on the house!! (And the franken’s a beaut, as usual. )

  16. How on earth do you get to go on so smoothly? The Martha Stewart glitters get so clumpy for me.

  17. This polish is totally awesome!๐Ÿ˜€

    And congratulations on your new house.๐Ÿ™‚

  18. That is absolutely gorgeous! You have inspired me to try out making my own nailpolishes! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love beauty-crafts!

  19. OMG this is the best polish i’ve seen you wear…. i want to make it and polish my toes!!

  20. Congrats on your new digs!
    And the polish is plenty of gorgeous. I am all about the sparkle

  21. Congratulations! That is awesome news!

  22. Congratulations on finding your future home!!!

  23. colormepinkenblue Says:

    Congratulations on the house! Hope moving goes smoothly so you can hurry back to us, your polish fans/fiends!

  24. O-M-G!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Holy cow that is beautiful!

    Congrats on the house!!!

  25. This is beautiful; I love it! I can appreciate the matte craze for what it is…but personally, I’ve always thought there is nothing like a fabulous glitter.

  26. Congratulations on your new home!
    Fantastic Franken too!

  27. Woah, dude! Or girl, maybe I should say. It’s really awesome!

  28. kachihadashi Says:

    OMG this is awesome! But where did you get the glitter? Like, from the craftstore? I’m asking because I make frankens, too, and I just can’t find any glitter that won’t turn silver when mixed with nailpolish๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    (Oh, and I just started a blog about nails and some other stuff, would you guys like to have a look at it? It’s kachihadashi.wordpress.com . Sorry for advertising ^^ )

  29. This looks so pretty ^_^ How about instead of turquoise and lapis, you add orange glitter for a Halloweeny edition??

    Congrats on the new house!! All the best for both of ya.

  30. I absolutely love visiting this blog and seeing all of your awesome concoctions! I do have one request to make though. Could you see if you can dupe the new Chanel Jade coming out? I would love to wear it but don’t think I can justify shelling out the $25 for it!

    I’d love you forever if you did. THANKS!!!

  31. Hi! I actually found the Martha Stewart glitters in the craft section at Wal-Mart. I think they also carry them at craft stores like Michaels and JoAnn Fabrics. I like the MS glitters because they work really great with polish!

  32. Glitter is sooo tricky to franken with! Believe me, I’ve gone through a ton that either melted in polish or turned silver/clear once they sat overnight. As a general rule, anything that states it is “cosmetic grade” should be fine. Key word is “should”!๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve had a few that didn’t work out so well…but it’s a lot of trial and error. I started using the Martha Stewart brand because they work really great, and my WalMart sells them for fairly cheap.

  33. And thank you everyone for the kind comments…I am so excited about my house and have been busy packing! ๐Ÿ™‚

  34. Thank you! I just discovered a similar brand that seems to be quite new, can’t wait to try them^^ Glitters are great!

  35. iLovenaiLpoLish_nLipgLosz Says:

    I love this color.. I’m fairly new to mixing just bail polish.. But I have a stupid question as stated above you said you added balls what exactly is that? Just curious thanks

  36. Hi! I was wondering if you used fine or coarse glitter in your franken. I know Martha Stewart sells both types, just wanted to know because I really want to reduplicate this one.

  37. very beautiful polish ! I love your blog, so I have taggued you on mine, come see !!!

Leave a Reply

