I Don’t Think This Is Mars

I am really excited about the “Planetary Sampler” pigments I got from TKB Trading! I haven’t attempted any duochrome polishes yet…so these are new territory for me.

For the first one I have up, I used Wet ‘N Wild black and Travel to Mars pigment from TKB Trading. Travel to Mars has a lovely blue flash to it. Now when I think of Mars….I think red. But hey, it’s still a neat color and gives me an excuse to use another silly name!
Photobucket

I used the smaller, 0.25 oz sized bottles for these, since this was a test run. I filled the bottle 3/4 full with black, then added 1 teaspoon of Mars pigment.

Photobucket

Photobucket

The end result is a shimmery purple with blue flash. Just a note…my pictures don’t do these justice! I have such a hard time photographing duochromes, but hopefully the color shift is noticeable!

Photobucket

Photobucket

The Planetary Sampler came with seven lovely colors, so you can expect a bunch more of these!
🙂

21 Responses to “I Don’t Think This Is Mars”

  1. IHeartMJ Says:

    This is so beautiful. It would be perfect for the Green Day concert I’ll be going to!

  2. Jesus, i’m obsessed! I want that color so BAD!

  3. suzanne Says:

    wowza that’s beautiful!!!!!!!!! seriously u need to make and sell these

  4. I’ve been wanting to try those planetary glitters for ages, I’m glad they look so good in nail polish.

  5. Carla G Says:

    Oh no! Not duochromes!! OMG, Amanda you are keeeeling me!! Gorgeous😀

  6. Gorgeous color🙂

  7. wow that is a really interesting color!! great job (=

  8. i made my first franken!!!!!!! it’s nars zulu/jedi knight fusion. a slightly shimmery zulu. yayyyyyy i feel so accomplished. it was fun.

  9. That’s super gorgeous! I still can’t believe some of the beautiful (and unique!) colours that you come up with! You’re very talented. Thanks for sharing your creativity with us all.

  10. lazybeautiful Says:

    That. is. GORGEOUS! I gotta franken some of my own, but alas, I have no empty bottles😦

  11. Sybelle Says:

    !!!!! Holy crap! That looks like OPI Sugarplum Yum or one of the Misa duochromes. :O!!! I’m amazed that adding it to black still turns out a light color. Soooo neat.

  12. This is fabulous! Um, could you tell me where you get the small bottles from??? I’ve been looking for little ones for ages!

  13. Duochrome! Very cool looking!

    Where did you get the 0.25 oz bottles? Did you buy empty ones and if so, where? I can only find those huge 0.5 oz ones from H2T.

  14. Hi ladies🙂
    I love the smaller bottles, but the only place I’ve been able to find them are in a 3 pack of sheer colors at my Dollar Tree. The brand is called “It’s A Girl Thing”. Since the polish that comes in them is sheer, it’s easy to dump out and clean with acetone. And the bottle has peel off labels, which is great! Hope this helps!

  15. Amanda this is a beauty! I was surprised at the color that came up on the last photo. Very pretty. I am baffled at how you can get this color from black and a pigment. Must go over my polished fumed head. I really enjoy everything that you come up with. Can’t wait for the rest of the pigments.

  16. Jennifer Says:

    What a beautiful color! I’m shocked that such a samll amount of pigment in a light color altered the darkness of a black polish that much. I was expecting a black with hot pink/blue shimmer, not rose with a blue/prurple shimmer. Nice job!

  17. Wow, this is such a cool duochrome!

  18. I love this color. As always, great job mixing.

  19. You are so creative! Thankyou for the inspiration.

  20. I like what you guys are up too. This type of cleer work and exposure!
    Keeep up the geat works guys I’ve incorporated you guys
    to blogroll.

  21. Hi,ladies I got small bottles on ebay..the duo is unbelievable. The green to die for …I need the name of the pigment clor please🌹💖✨💫

Leave a Reply

