Swimsuit Mishap

Ok, I am sure you’re scratching your head at the name of today’s franken!
πŸ™‚

I’ve been working hard on all the franken requests I’ve received lately. Kerriann emailed me a request for a dupe to Rescue Beauty Lounge’s Bikini Bottom. This proved to be quite the challenge for me…and after much experimenting, “Swimsuit Mishap” was born. It seemed like a fitting name for this, since it was a bit of a problem child for me! RBL’s Bikini Bottom is a lovely pale blue with a distinct jelly finish to it, and I wanted to make sure my franken captured that same “squishyness”. Sadly, I don’t own BB, so I had to make my franken based on pictures of it.

I used Sally Girl Surf’s Up blue creme, Wet N’ Wild French White Creme, and Wet ‘N Wild clear.

Photobucket

I filled an empty bottle half full with clear, then added in just a tiny bit less than 1/4 each of the white and blue. I added ballz and mixed it up well.

Photobucket

The polish is not quite as bright as my picture shows, and it is much more jelly-like in real life.

Photobucket

I used 4 thin coats, although 3 probably would have been sufficient. This polish was truly a franken challenge, but I did have fun making it! Thanks for the request, Kerriann!
πŸ˜€

26 Responses to “Swimsuit Mishap”

  1. Love this color!!!! Thats all I have to say!

  2. very pretty!! I’m loving the pastels you have been doing latelyπŸ™‚

  3. I love that! I’m going to have to try to franken something similar, since I can’t afford the RBL price tag.

  4. I put Bikini Bottom on my wish list but I probably won’t give in and get so maybe your franken is just what I need! I love it! All your frankens are so pretty!

  5. Another success! Just beautiful color on you. Love it.

  6. Amanda, it’s time for you to contact a polish company, or start your own. I think you’d make a success! I love this blue!

  7. I am swooning! How do you continue to create these colors that I wish companies would make?

  8. CanIHazDMFundz Says:

    Oh wow… that is super close!!! Awesomeness!

  9. bargainbeautyblog Says:

    yay yay yay! Thank you!!! Sorry for challenging youπŸ™‚ – Kerriann

  10. What a pretty color! I agree with Alexlyndra, you need to start a company! You have the talent, most definitely.

  11. I love it!

  12. I have bikinni bottom and this really looks alot like it. great job! i love looking at your polishes!

  13. Amanda, I’m with the other’s here that think you should do your own. I’m surious if you thought about doing it seriously, or if this is just a hobby for you?? Would it be something that you would be interested in doing as a full time job?

  14. I meant “curious” not surious – lol! I usually type better than thatπŸ™‚

  15. that’s a very good looking franken… the title surely had me thinking of things other than polish! =x

  16. Lovely! RBL makes me drool, but no way I can justify a $20 polish. Thanks for this one, can’t wait to try it w/ Zoya Yummy as the blue!

  17. luv2smilexo Says:

    omg this is perfect! do you think maybe you could make a franken of square pants too?

  18. OMG, Square Pants and Starfish Patrick frankens would be fantastic!!!πŸ™‚

  19. bargainbeautyblog Says:

    The Baby Chick color she did a few days ago looks like square pants– maybe add more clear for a jelly texture?

  20. delicate Says:

    I love this. It reminds me of a seventies home! The only thing more retro than this would be a nice seafoam, which I TOTALLY think you should try next.

  21. Do you sell your polish ? I am too lazy to franken lol. Plus i think getting all the supplies and polishes will cost me more in the short run than just buying the polish. Also, have you attempted to franken Essie Starry Starry Nights and Clarins 230?

  22. Kimberly Dillard Says:

    I love this color (Swimsuit Mishap); do you sell your creations?

  23. Great blog, this site has really been an eye opener. I used google translator – can you enlighten me please?

  24. Thank you for an additional terrific post. Where else could anybody get that type of information in such a perfect way of writing? I have a presentation subsequent week, and I am on the look for such facts.

  25. I ABSOLUTELY love this! I’ve been hunting for the perfect baby blue creme. Now I can just mix up the perfect shade.πŸ™‚

  26. […] Swimsuit Mishap « Dr. Frankenpolish – Dr. Frankenpolish – BlogsApr 23, 2009 … This proved to be quite the challenge for me…and after much experimenting, “ Swimsuit Mishap” was born. It seemed like a fitting name for this, … […]

Leave a Reply

