Baby Chickadee

I received a request from reader Carrie, asking me if I could make a “baby chick” soft yellow. As you all know, I love a good challenge, so I got right to work.

I used Wet N Wild French White Creme and Zoya Creamy yellow creme. I was originally going to use the same white I used for Orange Julius (Sally Hansen Insta Di Whirlwind White), but I wanted this polish to be a bit softer & the WnW is not quite as stark white as the SH.

Photobucket

I added 3/4 of the white into an empty bottle, and topped it off with 1/4 of Zoya Creamy.

Photobucket

The result is a soft yellow non-chalky pastel. It does look like a little baby chick, and I hope this is what Carrie had in mind.

Photobucket

I have some more reader requests coming up, so check back soon.
🙂

13 Responses to “Baby Chickadee”

  1. HulkTheSwimmer Says:

    This is better than BP! Your squared out nails look great!

  2. I agree with HulkTheSwimmer, your nails do look lovely! And that franken is gorgeous, I’m actually inspired to make this one!🙂

  3. What a beautiful pastel yellow! Just like a baby chick!

  4. Really pretty! I didn’t think I would like it as much, and then saw it on the nails and I’m a gonner🙂 Great job!

    Do you ever test small amounts, or just mix up the whole bottle and hope it comes out the way you want?

  5. That’s such a pretty yellow! What would you use if you wanted to make a mint green creme of about the same intensity as this yellow?

  6. Amanda, you have to send me you polishes from now on..😀 I’m searching for a polish like this but it’s sooo hard to find when you don’t look on Ebay. I’m not ready for Ebays big world yet. I love this polish, a little bit like banana!🙂

  7. Amanada–thank you so much for the quick turnaround on this request! I thought it would be weeks before you were able to get back to me. I love the polish you created. I am totally inspired to try this one for myself, although I may try to add just a touch more yellow to mine. The hue is right on, though. It will be perfect for a Spring mani. Thanks for giving it a whirl; I’m touched!

  8. Amanda that is a gorgeous yellow! Looks just like a baby chick color. Your nails are so beautiful. I’d like to see a baby blue also.

  9. You create so beautiful nail polishes.
    I really love the colors!

  10. BrattyCatt Says:

    I love this! I’ve tried many times to make a yellow like this and it always ends up streaky. I swapped my Creamy but I’ll definitely be on the lookout for that WnW! I stock up on the Black Creme but have never tried the White. Thanks for the great idea! I love this blog🙂

  11. LOVE the baby yellow, i adore this color!

  12. danielle Says:

    really pretii color i jus found u 2daii nd i lhuv ur website already

  13. Irene Beatriz Says:

    Esta muy bueno este blog porque brinda ideas para crear nuevas pinturas de uñas con las que ya se tienen. Hice esta amarrilla y me quedo muy bonita. Gracias por los datos. Besos

Leave a Reply

