Velvet Castle

There are a lot of lovely purple holos available, but I wanted a very deep, rich purple. The best part about being a mad frankening fool is that if I can’t find a particular color I want, I can just whip one up…usually!
šŸ˜‰

I used Sally Hansen Insta Dri Uptempo Plum, China Glaze GR8 gold holo, and Grape pigment from TKB Trading.

Photobucket

I filled an empty bottle with 3/4 GR8 gold holo, 20 drops of Uptempo Plum, and 1 tablespoon Grape pigment. Pigment is a bit stubborn when it comes to mixing it with a holo base, so it takes a lot of shaking…but once mixed well, it is fine.

Photobucket

It applied very smoothly, and was completely opaque in two coats.

Photobucket

This rich, regal purple needed an equally fancy name…so “Velvet Castle” seemed fitting! I have one more lovely holo for you, so stay tuned!

15 Responses to “Velvet Castle”

  1. I just love purple! This polish is adorable!

  2. beautiful! where do you get your pigment from?

  3. Another holo hit! Just such a beautiful color. It truly looks like velvet. I’d love a long cape made in a material like this polish. Then I need a gorgeous man on a horse, and he swoops me up, you can imagine the rest!

  4. This is gorgeous – well, all the holos you’ve done are, but I’m particularly partial to purple. What a coincidence I get to comment on my favorite color to tell you I gave you an award on my blog =)

  5. Oooh, good to know that insta-dri polishes can be successful components of a frankenpolish! I’ve been tempted to do something with mine, but I was worried that their thick consistency and their speedy drying time might cause problems.

  6. def love the name i feel its so appropriate.

  7. Hi Amanda!!
    I have given you a Kreative Blog Award on my blog.
    Your blog is one of my seven prefered blog!!šŸ™‚
    You will find the award here:
    http://trendynail.blogspot.com/2009/03/trendynail-nominato-come-kreative-blog.html

    Bye bye
    Astasia

  8. Very nice ^^

  9. Ooh… Neat idea! Saw your blog as a referral for mine and landed up here & LOVE it!

  10. This color is beautiful! My daughter and I enjoy reading your blog. You’ve inspired us to mix some of own nail polsh. Thanks!

  11. i tried to kind of do this…but i FAILED MISERABLY! i just tried pouring some nubar holo topcoat into a (full! where is my BRAIN!?) bottle of uptempo plum and of course nearly overflowed the bottle and now of course the purple has swallowed the holo. where do you buy empty nail polish bottles?

  12. Thanks everyone!
    I buy my empty bottles online from transdesign.com or cbsexquisite.com. It’s cheaper to buy them online for me, since I buy them in bulk.šŸ™‚ Some local beauty supply stores have them as well.

  13. OH MY!! That is the most perfect purple holo ever!

  14. EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP!

Leave a Reply

