More Matte!

What, you thought I’d stop with just one?
Armed with a plethora of new pigment samples from wonderful ladies, I set out to come up with some colorful friends for “Cauldron”. I’ve been busy swatching, and today I have the first three to show you!

All of these frankens are made with Nailtek Foundation II as a base.

Grey is a hot color right now…so what’s hotter than a matte grey? This was simple to make. I mixed together 2/3 back polish with 1/3 white to get the shade of grey I was aiming for, then added it to my Nailtek. If a lighter, dove grey is what you want, add more white and less black.
Photobucket
Photobucket

This strange green is reminiscent of Misa’s Dirty Sexy Money, but darker. It’s definitely an odd shade, but I like it! I made this with a teal pigment sample (TY, Miriel!) and a few drops each of plain black and white polishes (for the greyish cast & to give the mixture some opacity).
Photobucket

Photobucket

This interesting blue was just an easy mix of a little pigment (from the brilliant Elma, who came up with the matte franken idea) & Nailtek!

Photobucket

Photobucket

That’s all for today…stay tuned for more!

16 Responses to “More Matte!”

  1. Damn! All of them are awesome, but that blue…. don’t need a left arm, do you? How about a first born?

  2. neglelakkmani Says:

    I hear Gabrielle and put an SO + first born on the table! :iz dead: :tud:

  3. […] turen inn til Amanda i Dr.Frankenpolish! Hun har greid å lage de mest utrolige matte neglelakkene, les om hvordan hun gjorde det i bloggen hennes! Jeg er fullstendig […]

  4. Wow, I love these matte polishes. You kind of make me wanna make my own frankens now🙂

  5. These are gorgeous! Do you know a nailpolish brand, like China Glaze or something, that sells matte polishes? (I’m sorry if my English was bad :P)

  6. That matte green is the hottness!!!!

  7. *speechless* I am sorry, but no words can describe how A W E S O M E these polishes are!! You’ve outdone yourself on these ones😀

  8. You can haz my first born for the green!

  9. Again you amaze me! Just fantastic and I wouldn’t know which I love better. Do you think using the Nailtek II as a base and then polish on top would work ? It would be nice if I could just do that without mixing polishes.

  10. ohhh i like it!!!Ihope i can find some nailtek!!!you are graet at this!!!

  11. Thank you all!🙂
    The matte effect comes from mixing the pigment with Nailtek. If you use regular polish over Nailtek, it will not give a matte effect…but layering the Nailtek OVER the polish will!

  12. *drools*

    I can’t believe how awesome these are!!

  13. Is there a top coat you can put over one of these and not ruin the matte effect? I’d really like to try frankening my own, but I can’t go without a t/c!

  14. Queen…these dry super fast, so I usually go without a TC when I’ve worn them. Orly does make a few different matte topcoats, but I haven’t given them a try yet!

  15. the blue and the green look lit up! very cool girlfriend, very cool!

  16. chelita Says:

    what other pigment did you use for the purple matte polish i looooove it!

Leave a Reply

