Playing with Pigments- Part 3

I’ve been having so much fun with these pigment samples!
I decided to try one of the more unique colors, “Paradise Shimmer Tan Mica”. Despite the name, it is actually more of a rich, shimmery bronze than tan. It looks dazzling in the sample bag!
Photobucket
Clear is a good choice to use with this pigment. Since the pigment color is gorgeous on its own, we don’t want to distract from that. I’m going to use 2/3 full bottle of NYC Clear. NYC is one of my favorite brands to use in frankening because it is so cheap (less than 99 cents each), but the quality of their polishes is good.
Photobucket

Using a paper funnel, I began adding the pigment in. I was originally going to add the entire bag (approx. 1 teaspoon) but only used half. I added ballz and shook the mixture, and was surprised how such a small amount of pigment really saturated the clear!
Photobucket

I’ll be honest, I’m not usually fond of gold or bronze polishes. In fact, most I’ve tried have looked terrible on me! But there was something about this particular polish that appealed to me. It reminded me ofa darker Zoya Richelle, which is a bronze-y gold that I love.
Photobucket
Photobucket

Thank you again, Gabrielle, for sending me these to try out! The quality of the pigments was unbelievable! After experimenting with many different brands, I think I’ve found a favorite. I will be placing an order for more colors with Coastal Scents very soon. Which means more lovely frankens for you all to enjoy!
πŸ˜€

17 Responses to “Playing with Pigments- Part 3”

  1. That is gorgeous!

  2. I just can’t believe the amazing coverage you get with your frankens. It looks sooo good.

  3. So incredible blingy! Amazing!

  4. Absolutely beautiful!

  5. That is so pretty! One of your best yetπŸ™‚

  6. Thanks, all!
    I was pleasantly surprised at the richness of these pigments. A little went a long way…the coverage on this franken was great! I only used 2 thin coats.

  7. neglelakkmani Says:

    Amazing!πŸ™‚

  8. Wow, that is a beaut! I’ll have to try that out.

  9. You have inspired me!!! I always love looking everyone’s franken’s, but now I really have to try some of my own!

  10. Oh my goodness! I love everything you are doing, please keep these posts coming. I hope more people get tuned into your site and start being creative and also showing their ‘creations’…….

    Congradulations to you – for putting your stuff out there.

  11. That is a very cool copper and it’s so opaque. I wonder how it would look if you took it a bit further and added a bit of olive, to give a patina’d look?

    I have a bunch of polishes set aside to try Frankening, just want to get some empty bottles and some extra black, white, clear, and sparkley polish before I start. Thanks for all the great ideas and getting my brain full of ideas for combos.

  12. I’m glad to hear some of you girls want to give frankening a try!πŸ™‚

  13. that is gorgeous!!!

  14. I love this one a lot. I tried the pigment with some NYC clear. But my pigment just sinks down. Should I add more? Help!

  15. Leslie:
    Try adding the pigment in a little at a time, and shaking in between. Make sure you have ballz, too.πŸ™‚

  16. this looks very similar, almost dupeable, to OPI DS GLOW

  17. Hay,
    I really like this one (and the other franken’s you made).
    I would like to make this one myself, with the coastal scents pigment, but on the website you can choose between a sample (one teaspoon), 1 oz, 8 oz or 1 lbs, so which one should I choose (how much do you need for the polish?).
    Another question, what is/are ballz?

    Thanks alot,
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

