Playing with Pigments- Part 2

Back for more?🙂
As I mentioned in my previous post, I received a ton of lovely pigment samples from a friend, and have been having a ball with them. Lately, I’ve really been liking shimmery white polishes, so I am going to try out one of the white pigments. This one, called “Inter Gold Sparkle Mica” is a pretty white with fine gold shimmer.
Photobucket
For the base, I’m going to use a combination of 2/3 clear (NYC Clear) and 1/3 white (NYC French Tip White Creme).
Photobucket

After adding ballz and shaking, I let the polish mix sit for a few minutes so I could accurately gauge how full the bottle was. You want make sure there’s enough room for the pigment.
Photobucket
I slowly added the entire packet of pigment (about 1 teaspoon full) into the mix using a paper funnel, then followed up with another bout of vigorous shaking! Now we have a soft white polish with a subtle golden shimmer.
Photobucket
It’s hard to capture the shimmer, but it really softens up the white and adds a touch of glimmer to the polish.
Photobucket

9 Responses to “Playing with Pigments- Part 2”

  1. I’m guessing that the clear polish doesn’t have to be of any good brand when you franken?

  2. Wow! It looks alot like Zoya’s Gaia only nicer!
    I’ve just given you a shout-out and award on my blog, btw #:)

  3. Ohhh, that is beautiful. How many coats did you use for that mani?

  4. The finnished product turned out lovely!

  5. Looks awesome!!! You have such a great talent for coming up with frankens – I wish I could do only 1% of what you do😀

  6. Thanks all🙂
    I used 2 thin coats for the mani, plus a coat of Seche Vite. I’ve found the cheap drugstore clear polishes are great for frankening!

  7. i like it!!turned out greate!

  8. Very nice. Such pretty nails.

  9. Amanda – that looks fantastic!!! You are so great at frankening! And I *love* your nails!! That’s my ideal length…too bad i can never get them to grow as pretty as yours..

Leave a Reply

