Uglies? I Think Not!

Recently, I received some “less-than-desirable” polishes from my friend Michelle at A Stroke of Color.  She was confident that I would be able to doctor these into something a little more appealing.  Mission accepted!
Photobucket

Now, these are both Sally Hansen polishes & I’ve peeled the labels off (of course!).  We will start with the darker, metallic rose colored polish. It isn’t too horrible…but can certainly be improved! Since it is a full bottle, I am going to split it in half and make two different frankens from it.
Photobucket
Now that the polish is divided, I’ve chosen some colors to add in: Wet N Wild Black Creme, Essie Who’s She Red, and Revlon Colorstay clear.
Photobucket
I added 1/4 of Essie Who’s She Red, and 1/4 clear into one of the bottles. The Essie is a very opaque red creme, so adding some clear polish gives the mixture a bit of a shiny “jelly” finish. And by using a creme polish, I’ve toned down the metallic properties in the original polish. After adding in a couple ballz and shaking, we now have a lovely dark pink shimmer!
Photobucket
Photobucket
I’m very pleased with how this turned out! The color is very versatile, and would look great on a variety of skin tones.
Now let’s not forget the second bottle we set aside! For this one, we’ll keep it simple and just add in 1/2 Wet N Wild Black creme. I love using black to franken with because it is a simple way to completely change the appearance of a polish. Remember our metallic rose we started with? Well, take a look at it now:
Photobucket
Photobucket
This vampy purple has a beautiful deep shimmer that almost glows! It reminds me a lot of OPI’s now discontinued Black Tie Optional.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Thanks, Michelle, for sending me these polishes to work with!

18 Responses to “Uglies? I Think Not!”

  1. You really inspire me! These polishes turned out so beautiful! I lve the pinkish shimmer in the red one and the tiny glitter in the purple polish.

  2. They are both absolutely gorgeous! *swoons*

  3. That purple one is to DIE for! Gorgous!

  4. Amanda those are awesome!! I’m so glad I sent them to you, you’re a wiz😀

  5. WOW! I think the purple is a dupe for Chanel Vendetta!

  6. the purple one is gorgeous🙂

  7. hello,i just find your page,and i love the purple!!

  8. Thank you…you’re all very sweet. I am so happy with the way these turned out…especially the purple!

  9. OMG! The purple is FAB-U-LOUS!!! Do you remember the name of the Sally Henson pink shimmer you mixed with the black?

  10. Suga,
    I located the label from the bottle and it is called “Toetally Coral” (spelled like that). It’s from the old Insta-Dri collection in the square bottles (like the one I mixed it in). Hope that helps!🙂

  11. I’m back to leave another comment! This purple really inspired me, and I am going to make my first franken tonight.

    I used your picture on my blog (giving you credit and links of course), so please let me know if you would like for me to take it down!

    You have a great site here, can’t wait to see what else you cook up in your little polish lab.

    p.s. I love the nail polish bottles with the bolts at the top of your page! So creative!

  12. Love that purple! It is gorgeous!!

  13. That purple is to die for!

  14. That purple is gorgeous!! :O

  15. WOW! I love your work! Makes me wanna try to franken some of my uglies😉

  16. Wow, that blackened purple is awesome!
    I so need to try this frankenpolish that you do.
    Where do you get ballz to put in?
    Is there somewhere special that you get your bottles?

  17. isobels_burden Says:

    I love the last post, the purple has such a depth of colors in it! great job! =)

  18. The purple is incredible. Love it!

Leave a Reply

