Jackie Green Jelly

My friend Jackie recently asked me if I could make a dark green jelly for her. Green? Jelly? Well, my arm didn’t need to be twisted! I got to work, and whipped up a pretty color I thought she’d really enjoy. A few days later, as I was finalizing my blog entry, I received and email from reader Teresa, asking if I could make a polish similar to NARS Zulu. For those of you unaware, Zulu was a gorgeous dark green jelly that NARS released a few years ago around the holidays as a limited edition. Zulu still turns up on ebay occasionally, but it usually sells for $$$.

For this polish, I used Wet ‘N Wild clear, Wet ‘N Wild Black Creme, and New York Summer Amaranth.
Photobucket

I mixed 1/2 the clear polish with 1/2 NYS Amaranth. I added the black in a couple drops at at time, shaking and swatching in between, until I had the shade of dark green I was happy with.

Photobucket

I don’t have Zulu to compare, but from pictures I have seen, mine looks a bit lighter. I was considering adding more black to darken it up, but after doing a mani with it, I’m happy with it just how it is.

Photobucket

The picture was taken without a top coat on the polish, so you can see how shiny it is on it’s own. I can see why Zulu was so popular…and hopefully this quick & easy franken can help out those craving Zulu.
:-)

44 Responses to “Jackie Green Jelly”

  1. This is very close if not dead on. I don’t own zulu but have seen it on some blogs. Your duplication is nice though and makes me want to wear green polish. lol

  2. OMG that’s absolutely divine!!! :D I’m going to try this with some UK available polishes, I made a dark green creme about the same darkness but this is just sooooo much better!! You rock, Dr! :D

  3. this is so nice!! you get better and better every day!

  4. That’s just stunning, my dear Dr. Frankenpolish!

  5. That’s a realy nice looking jelly polish!

  6. Penemuel Says:

    That is lovely! I’ve wanted a Zulu dupe for a while, and now I know how to make one — thank you for posting this! (I never would have thought to mix the green with clear and then add in the black, but now it makes all the sense in the world!)

  7. Jarissa Says:

    Where can you buy NYS polishes?

  8. That is the most perfect rendition I have seen! Amaranth is great for frankening.

  9. oh wow! that does look like jelly. haha.

  10. WiltedLettuce Says:

    Hi Dr Frankenpolish. That’s a beautiful green. I would also love to see a franken of Essie Starry Starry Night.

  11. Dr. F., I’m so impressed! I hope you don’t mind that I posted a link to the MUA NB because this is just amazing.

    For those who were wondering, New York Summer polishes are sold at transdesign.com – they are VERY affordable.

  12. How beautiful your nails look. I’ve seen Zula swatched on a blog also. It looks the same to me. Another polish you could sell.

  13. Just beautiful ! I love the jelly look of this polish.

  14. You did it! You really did it! You duped NARS Zulu better than I have ever seen anyone else attempt to do it! I’m thoroughly impressed and I can’t wait to try it myself. Thank you soooo much!!!

  15. Thanks, guys!!! <3
    I always love suggestions…they seem to turn into some of my favorite frankens!!!

  16. Have been following your wonderful site for a few weeks. I am inspired to try frankening after seeing that beautiful green!

  17. Oh my, that’s beautiful :) I second the earlier commenter- where can I get NYS polishes?

    I adore your blog- it makes me feel like I can make all these lovely polishes myself ;) Now I just need to get some empty polish bottles…

    xoxo

  18. Oh my, that’s beautiful :) I second the earlier commenter- where can I get NYS polishes?

    I adore your blog- it makes me feel like I can make all these lovely polishes myself ;) Now I just need to get some empty polish bottles…

    xoxo
    OH! You’re my new favorite blogger fyi

  19. Wow! Sooooo deeeeeep….
    You’re a genius!!!

  20. :-)
    NYS brand is carried at Transdesign.com
    They sell Nailtek, OPI, China Glaze, and Essie, too! Their prices are very reasonable if you plan to order a few things. I think I paid about $9 for shipping on an order of 15 polishes!

  21. That looks amazing! And I don’t even like Zulu =O

  22. i feel so honored!!! it is a truly magnificent green jelly! (= we need to put you into production mode – put you on TD with your own section on coming franken attractions! lol

  23. really really nice polish!!!!

  24. I wish i could buy it! And I would love to see a franken from Sally Hansen Forsythia :) Thanks for sharing the recipe

  25. i love it!

  26. stephanie Says:

    my amaranth looks a little more like a blue-green compared to yours. perhaps mine was from a bad batch?

  27. Stephanie,
    I’ve gone through about 5 or 6 bottles of Amaranth, and they’ve all been green creme. It’s possible you did get a bad batch, or if you bought it from a beauty supply store, they may have “frankened” it themselves :-)

  28. omg, it’s stunning! :)

  29. JennTrevino-Long Says:

    Would love to see a similar blue and purple one!

  30. I just made my very own zulu following your recipe. thanks so much for killing this lemming. I have wanted that color for years, and based on swatches i’ve seen this is pretty darn close.

  31. Breathtaking – I’ll need to try this one too.

  32. That is beautiful!! I have just started following the nail polish blogs and they are wonderful. I thought I was the only one who loves nail polish, but apparently I was wrong. I saw a swatch of Zulu the other day and fell in love! I have to try this one, thanks so much!

  33. Where do you get your empty bottles? I really like them.

  34. Anonymous Says:

    I just bought 2 bottles of Amaranth from Transdesign, and I am having the same problem as the previous commenter, Stephenie. Both bottles are more of a blue-green jelly, definitely not a green creme. And there are some stray glitters. It’s very strange.

  35. i made mine with sinful san fran instead of aramanth- same color just sparkly! yay!

  36. [...] Leagues Under the See I have received a lot of compliments on my “Jackie Green Jelly” polish, so I decided to make a navy [...]

  37. [...] are Jackie Green Jelly and Flat Grape Matte your favorites?Jackie Green Jelly (click for recipe) is probably my favorite franken I have made so far. Like many others, I missed [...]

  38. Really nice shade, and I love how shiny it is. That’s what’s great about jellies.

  39. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I
    get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyways, amazing blog!

  40. Wonderful post! We will be linking to this great content on our
    website. Keep up the good writing.

  41. Excellent goods from you, man. I have understand
    your stuff previous to and you are just extremely great. I actually
    like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a tremendous site.

  42. Asking questions are actually nice thing if you are not understanding anything totally,
    except this article presents pleasant understanding even.

  43. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  44. I like what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of
    clever work and coverage! Keep up the wonderful works
    guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my own blogroll.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 212 other followers

